Skip to content

Friday Feature – Go Navy!*

May 1, 2009

It should come as no surprise that Stephen Colbert is second only to Jon Stewart in my celebrity crush devotion.

Voila!

In case you skipped that part, Monsieur Colbert is partnering with Donors Choose to provide projects and resources to classrooms around the country, classrooms heavy with military kids. Rock on, Senor Colbert. Donors Choose allows you to choose the specific project you would like to contribute to – I chose to help provide environmental testing materials to a middle school classroom at Camp LeJeune.

Donate here. They take Pay Pal y’all – it’s easy as pie.

*Blatantly intended to bait you all into a little intraservice competition. I’m just saying, I checked this morning and Navy is ahead, followed closely by Marines and Army. Air Force, you are slacking.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 1:38 pm

    Yeah, well I just did my part so GO ARMY! πŸ™‚
    I gave to a science program at LeJeune too… mini-computers for field work and environmental testing. Wicked cool, and I am way jealous that we didn’t have anything that neat when I was in school!

    Thanks LM and Senor Colbert. Very, very cool!

  2. May 1, 2009 2:18 pm

    I think this is super cool because you can donate any amount and can choose exactly where your money goes.
    I chose an artsy-fartsy program at a school in GA.
    And I’ll end this comment by saying…

    GO AIR FORCE!!!

    πŸ™‚

  3. Karol permalink
    May 1, 2009 9:14 pm

    As a teacher in a very inner-urban and low income school I have to say, many of us here would not survive without donors choose. This year we have outfitted our music program and received much needed books for classrooms. Thanks to all of you for all you do!!

    • May 2, 2009 1:44 am

      Karol – Thank YOU for what YOU do!
      I love your feedback about Donors Choose. Sometimes donating to a cause can feel so abstract and detached – good to know they come through.

Leave a comment