Skip to content

What the HELL?

February 3, 2012

There really is a lot of good stuff on social media like Facebook – look at the Susan B. Komen frantic back peddling today on their gaffe with Planned Parenthood. Then there’s the silly stuff, kittens, puppies and singing animals of every description. But every so often there is something that makes my head just explode.

THIS picture, going around on Facebook just made me wonder… who the HELL would support this? Who thinks this is a good thing? Yes, he has the right to say this. He has the right to be proud of his son. He has the right to put this on his shirt.

But the disrespect he is showing to the liberal military community, the sons and daughters who are serving downrange; the husbands and wives who are missing yet another child’s birthday or recital, the birth of their baby, because they are serving their country honorably is repugnant. The disrespect to my friend Karen’s son, who is in Section 60 at Arlington Cemetery, is revolting. Chicken?  really?

Our liberal children or spouses are busting their asses in the mountains of Afghanistan, sitting on miniscule FOBs where the dust in the summer coats every surface and infiltrates their lungs with who knows what; they are launching planes off carriers and spending days under the surface; they are flying jets all over the world; they are serving in the ranks alongside this man’s son. Are they less than his son? Are we going to ask a soldier or a Marine what his voting history is before we send him a care package? Last time I looked, there wasn’t a place for that on the dog tags my husband wears.

Are we only supporting service members who vote a certain way? I’ve been told that if my husband was wounded during a deployment I am responsible because of how I voted. This shirt is another example of that type of thinking. This “all service members are conservative” mindset is completely and utterly false.

The amount of support this got on a military spouse page was depressing. Could we at least respect the service of our spouses, whilst we disagree about politics? I may find your politics abhorrent, your support of your favoured candidate delusional; but the service of you and your spouse, I will respect.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    February 3, 2012 9:22 pm

    I’ve been told that my family is “unamerican”. To my face. Because of the way I’ve voted. While my husband was deployed.

    It’s just abhorrent.

  2. February 3, 2012 9:58 pm

    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.
    I will not drop an f-bomb.

    • Michelle permalink
      February 5, 2012 11:55 am

      why? this is a droppable offense. IMO.

  3. February 4, 2012 2:37 am

    Agreed. Being a Liberal Army Wife…. sometimes it’s really hard to be around those who can’t even agree to disagree yet still support those we love and who serve our country.

    I couldn’t have said it any better than what you wrote in this post…. I’m sharing it on FB. 🙂

  4. Brittany permalink
    February 4, 2012 11:09 am

    I’ve been told in the past that as a liberal, I have no right to be a military spouse. Shit like this pisses me off to no end. Disrespectful doesn’t even begin to DESCRIBE how rude this is. I know the woman who took this photo opted not to say anything, but i most definitely would have. And likely would have been kicked off the plane/out of the airport. And it would have been damn worth it.

  5. February 4, 2012 11:23 am

    Ugh. I am a liberal Army wife and some people’s ignorance never ceases to amaze me. And I agree with Brittany-I most likely would’ve said something and then probably been kicked out of the damn airport.

  6. Michelle permalink
    February 5, 2012 11:56 am

    I just wonder when “Loving Country” became only something that Republicans did.

  7. Sarah permalink
    March 17, 2012 4:49 pm

    Here’s another opinion. As a young conservative woman I have been called every name in the book (bigot, racist, sexist, homophobe, etc, etc) without the individual doing the name-calling even attempting to listen to my point of view. If I don’t support gay marriage I without a doubt must be a homophobe! If I don’t agree with the government providing free birth control for all women then I have to be anti-woman, right? I was also told that if I was going to vote for John McCain in 2008 that i should kill myself and to top it off, an individual (who happened to be extremely Liberal) told me that he hopes I have several miscarriages in my future. Thankfully, I didn’t as I currently have a very happy and healthy 8 month old son 🙂
    The only point I want to make is that the door swings both ways. Liberals can be just as cruel as Conservatives, but for some reason it rarely makes the news and if it does no one seems to care.
    I wonder if you guys would be just as upset if the wording on the shirt was different. Would you still be disgusted or would it instead be funny?
    Just for the record, I have no problems with Liberals as long as my opinions are also respected. I actually have some liberal view-points, (shocking, I know!) but because I mostly identify myself as Conservative I am almost always automatically labeled as an evil person.

    • Lisa permalink
      June 26, 2012 11:53 am

      I have to say that liberal military wives have it a lot harder than conservative military wives. Considering the vast majority of service members are conservative, we are in the minority. I have lost several friends because of my views.

Leave a Reply

