Skip to content

Tragedy immeasurable

August 6, 2011

Waking up this morning to the news of the worst loss in the Afghan war – was beyond words.  Even though I logically knew it wasn’t possible that my husband was in that chopper, I was still indescribably relieved when his email address popped up – albeit with a shopping list attached, that he sent much earlier that day from Afghanistan.

All morning, while getting ready for a meeting – I ran back and forth to my computer.  We checked on each other, we emailed each other, we instant messaged each other – the online community pulled together.  We held onto each other as much as we could – we reached out and took each other’s hands.

Our community is mourning today – our community is in such pain today.  It doesn’t matter  the uniform, these men were our family.  Those families are ours.  We mourn with the NSW community.  After the next weeks, with the glare of the media and the pomp of the funerals and memorials, are over
, we’ll still be here – with our hands outstretched. We’re family.

LAW

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 8:35 pm

    I was a mess as I sat down to flip on my computer. I knew in my head that my soldier was fine, but in my heart I knew someone else’s life was forever altered. Such a tragedy that affects us all-until they all come home we will grieve every loss.May their families feel the outreach from every branch of the services during this time. RIP to all those who gave the ultimate sacrifice. We will not forget you .

Leave a Reply

