Skip to content

MyCAA is full of balls

April 5, 2011

And by balls, I don’t mean the good kind.

Recently, I graduated from an MFA program. During the course of this program, I managed to score MyCAA funding for one semester’s worth of classes, which really ended up saving my happy ass. My justification on the paperwork was that I could teach online classes, and perhaps one day see income from writing. This MFA would help with those portable jobs.

Today I am thrilled to announce that I have an assistant editor position, and it’s a work-from-home job. I’ll be working with some amazing authors and amazing staff at a truly bleeding-edge publisher. I couldn’t be happier. And I’d have hella more debt than I do now if not for MyCAA.

Yet MyCAA is no longer accessible to a great swathe of the milspouse population. Why is that, DOD? What was that about certificate positions like medical transcriptionist and associate degree programs being the best a milspouse can hope for in the portable job world?

To sorta-quote a certain D-lister, Suck It MyCAA!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 10:40 pm

    Congratulations on the new job!!! As for MyCAA, first I qualified, then I didn’t. Seems the military, like the rest of the country, wants entry-level workers. Apparently my husband’s MOS, rank, and my multiple degrees disqualified me for this program. Which is splendid. No. Really. Fanfuckntastic. So good for you – I mean that – but word: be average, or slightly less than. SO much simpler. And people like you better that way.

  2. April 15, 2011 11:42 am

    A little late on seeing this, but it just reminds me of the women that I met since we moved to a new base. One has a degree and experience as a nurse, but can’t find work after a year of searching. One has a teaching degree but is working so far away that they are geo-bacheloring it. One used to work at a bank and is looking for that or hospitality work, but she can’t find anything either. At our last post, a woman was a dental hygienist and couldn’t find work.

    Aren’t these the jobs that women are supposed to be able to easily get whenever they move? Beside the fact that it’s sexist and narrow minded to only allow certain degree programs for spouses, you would think that at the very least the limited options would actually be remotely viable. But the ones who have jobs are the ones who do grant writing, marketing, or project management/content writing.

    It’s a digital world and I think it’s clearly time to rethink what constitutes a transportable job.

Leave a Reply

