Skip to content

Civilian Disconnect

September 24, 2010

Ok, this annoys the hell out of me! This is the question from “This Emotional Life” on Facebook.

For those of you who have a loved one in the military right now, what are you doing to prepare for their return home?

Now.. this is so damned typical of the ignorance that civilians show for military life – they mean well, they just don’t GET IT! I told them (being the bitch that I am) that they needed to add something – ….. loved one Deployed in the military ….. DEPLOYED being the operative word. Why the hell do they think that everyone in the military is downrange? do they not look around? is the disconnect so complete that someone in the media can ask such a stupid question? GAAAH.

LAW

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 3:12 pm

    Yes. Anytime a civilian finds out I’m a military spouse they assume my husband is deployed if he’s not with me. Like he can’t work an evening or weekend while stateside. I’m quite capable of taking my kids out by myself even when my husband is home. Although these same people are also looking at my kids, one with brown hair and brown eyes, and the other with blonde hair and blue eyes, and since neither my husband nor I are blonde haired nor blue eyed (let’s be honest, my husband is Daddy Warbucks bald), people often ask if the kids have different dads.

Leave a Reply

