Skip to content

Poetry – from a deployment

April 30, 2010

Poetry – does this conjure up dimly remembered memorization of ” a host of golden daffodils” or “shall I compare thee to a summers day”. Do we have a new view of it for you! A milspouse blog friend, who is a poet of note, has published a new book of poetry. Her name is Jehanne Dubrow, and the book is “Stateside”. She is in the middle of a deployment, and wrote this book after the last deployment that she and her Navy spouse went through. Two of the poems were chosen for NPR’s Art Beat – here’s links to both of them.
Against War Movies poem
Nonessential Equipment Poem They struck such a chord for me – “Against War Movies” – how many of us haven’t been able to watch the latest war movie during deployment!

When reading poetry, I tend to “nibble” at the collection, not “gulp” it down the way I do with prose. Both of these pieces were a great appetizer, and I’m going to enjoy this feast of poetry.

Have you sampled “Stateside”? If you haven’t, go get it. If you have, share with us!

LAW

2 Comments leave one →
  1. klgrady permalink
    May 1, 2010 6:34 pm

    I’ve read it. 🙂 Some of the poems gave me chills. Some made me sad. A few gave me a sense of vindication as I jabbed at the page and shouted at my husband, “See? I’m not the only one!”

    An awesome collection to be sure.

  2. LAW permalink
    May 3, 2010 10:59 am

    Oh yeah. There are a few that I’ve read to Chief and said “get it?” SEEEEE????

Leave a Reply

