Skip to content

Never underestimate us

March 11, 2010

NEVER. A bunch of really pissed off military spouses reared up and smacked the mighty DoD – and we got results. The Facebook pages, and this one too, the phone calls to legislators, the legislative roundtables – made DoD send out this.

The following is provided for your review and information on behalf of Dr Clifford Stanley, USD (P&R):

As you know, DoD announced a temporary pause to the MyCAA program February 16, 2010. The pause was necessitated by an unforeseen, unprecedented spike in enrollments, which not only pushed the program to its budget threshold, but also began to overwhelm the program’s support systems. While the pause was necessary, we regret that we did not appropriately notify enrollees and other program stakeholders in advance. We know this action damaged our credibility with our military spouses, Service members and the American public.

Since the February 16th announcement, we have initiated a comprehensive program review that has resulted in the approval of a two-phase plan that permits the immediate resumption of operations…. See More
Phase 1 will begin Saturday, March 13 at 12:00 p.m. (EST) and will allow the 136,583 spouses currently in the program to continue executing their career training plans. This honors our original commitment made when they entered the program.

With regard to Phase 2, we are preparing options for the long-term management of the program. We intend to socialize these options with select program stakeholders prior to presenting them to Secretary Gates
for consideration. This will occur within the next several weeks.

“damaged their credibility”… SRSLY? Ya Think?! but, it sure showed us, all of us, the power of the voice we have, the voice that we need to keep using, the cumulative voice of the military spouse, that doesn’t need lobbyists or spokesmen – an organized group on Facebook and information passed amongst us all – phone numbers, names, emails of those who will listen and DO something. It worked, we made it work. Congratulations, everyone.

Addendum I read the entire News Release a few times. One little thing, Mr. Secretary – an apology would be in order. An apology for the callous way you treated those spouses, an apology for not emailing the ones in the program FIRST, an apology for the deafening silence we heard from your office until we started pushing and standing up for ourselves. Two Little Words – We’re Sorry – I’m guessing that’s too much to ask.

LAW

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kitty permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:52 am

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. March 11, 2010 11:02 am

    RAWR, I say.

    I’m glad to hear there’s a resolution, and it sounds better than I had thought they’d be able to make happen.

  3. TammyJ permalink
    March 11, 2010 11:31 am

    Hope they get the long term part figured out soon. I hadn’t enrolled yet as I was still trying to figure out which school was the best fit for me. Now that I think I know which way I’m going sure would be nice to see this program rolling again. I’m lucky though in that I wasn’t planning on using it until late summer. I’m hoping things are back up by then but have to admit I’m not terribly hopeful that the program will return in a way that was as beneficial as before.

  4. TammyJ permalink
    May 11, 2010 6:38 pm

    Saw in the Air Force Times today that the MyCAA review has been completed but is waiting for Secretary Gates to look it over. I’m a little nervous that big changes will be in store due to budget constraints. Hopefully we’ll see soon.

    • TammyJ permalink
      June 3, 2010 3:39 pm

      Call me impatient but three weeks ago, they said a couple of weeks…still waiting. I know, realistically I never expected them to announce this when they said they would but it still aggravates me.

  5. TammyJ permalink
    June 30, 2010 7:38 am

    Well, they still haven’t released the details but it is looking like MyCAA is giving the ax to four year degrees and I’m sure postbac work as well. From what is being said, it looks like they are going to focus on licensing type stuff. If you want more than that you’ll have to get your spouse to sign over his/her GI bill money (if he’s able to at this point). I’m disappointed but not surprised. On a personal level I just find it more aggravating because my “baby” goes to school full time this year and I was thinking of going back myself. Can’t believe I missed it by “this” much.

    • LAW permalink
      June 30, 2010 7:42 am

      me too, Tammy. I had the paperwork started, was ready with the degree program for HumanResources/social work… and poof. Chief is saying he’ll give me some of his GI Bill, I hate that… it’s his. so I’m going to be on the grant search! anyone got any hints??

Leave a Reply

