Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2010

For those of us who are going through deployment right now – this is one of those holidays that is both annoying, and sometimes wonderful. Last year, when Chief was downrange, the flowers I got were so very welcome, the call was special, the lovely card made me sniffle! This year – a lovely breakfast and a day spent together will be special, partly because it’s pretty rare for us to have this day together. YEAH, I know, it’s a “Hallmark Holiday”; I know that the commercialization of the “special day” has turned it into the “day of obligation” with guys roaming the halls of the local drugstore looking for another box of chocolates in a heart shaped box; so how do you feel about Valentine’s Day?

LAW

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 9:34 am

    This year, Valentine’s Day also falls on the Chinese New Year, so I’m guessing if my husband and I do anything this evening, that will also be a factor. I don’t mind it as long as I don’t see anyone give me leftover Valentine’s stuff for my birthday (Wednesday). I hope everyone’s enjoying their day!

  2. February 14, 2010 10:27 am

    Ive never been a fan of Valentine’s Day. My husband and I have never celebrated it, so this year because he’s gone it doesn’t really make a difference. It might be nice to have him home for a nice homemade dinner and wine. But we can do that any day that he’s home. šŸ™‚

  3. February 16, 2010 3:55 am

    My sweetie and I have a standing agreement not to celebrate the day. Although I did remember to send Valentine’s cards to my niece and nephew in the States, I spaced off the actual day entirely this year — it helps to be in another country!

Leave a Reply

