Skip to content

Thursday Thoughts

January 7, 2010

With the beginning of the new year, we are getting close to the official end of Obama’s first year in office. On Christmas day, the Health Care Bill was passed, which whether you agree with it or not, was a huge undertaking.

What we want to know this week is how would you rate what Obama has done so far in his first year? Is there anything that you would like to see happen that hasn’t? Are you satisfied with the progress that has been made? Why or why not?

You can see a list of things that Obama Administration has accomplished by going here and clicking on each of the individual issues.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 6:05 am

    Am I satisfied with the progress? that’s a hard one. I want so much to happen, I want there to NOT be a possibility that he’ll deploy again in a year, I want there to NOT be a thousand page health care bill that may not include a public option, I want there to NOT be a Gitmo that flies in the face of everything I always thought this country stood for. But, and this is a big BUT, I’m also practical and fairly pragmatic. I knew for a fact that making laws is hard, and ugly, and when you have a “loyal opposition” (opposition is true, loyal – no, not so much) that has the knee jerk reaction of NO WAY IN HELL… it gets close to impossible.

    I hated that everyone thought this was going to be so easy and we were going to get so much done – Poof, wave the magic wand. Everyone forgot the lesson we learn each and every time there is a new Democratic administration. The Democrats in Congress will make sure they make it hard to do anything by fighting amongst themselves – sometimes I think they are worse than the opposing party!

    I want an end to the wars, but I know it’s not going to happen quickly or easily. I want health care reform, that covers those that need to be covered and tells the health insurance industry their days of arbitrary refusals, their days of “pre existing conditions” and denial of benefits, dragging out the appeals process is over, but the opposition is staying loyal to their paymasters and making that almost impossible. I want the new GI Bill to pay out on time so Vets aren’t being thrown out of school, out of their housing, because the load on the VA is so large, and there aren’t enough people to process it (and the computer system is so buggy it makes Vista look good!), but we can’t hire that fast because of the insane way they hire, and various vets organizations had fits when the VA wanted to hire a temp agency to get the initial workload done. I want military families to have the mental health counseling we need, available without jumping through multiple hoops etc… I want Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell to be overturned NOW. I want… I want…. I want….

    Am I satisfied? Not one hundred percent. Do I hope to see more progress in the future? yes. Do I still have HOPE? yes. It’s going to take work, not just by the President, but also by us.

    LAW

Leave a Reply

