Skip to content

Chain emails – they need to stop!

November 18, 2009

From M, a reader of mine. She keeps getting those emails, you know the ones. The weeping families, or the prayers with the little boy holding a folded flag, or the Never Forget ones… M asked me what I do, but I’m looking for ideas too.

**********************
I was wondering if other wives have the same trouble – well meaning family members who find it necessary to send forwarding chain emails showing soldiers and their families – usually they are “prayer” type emails but always soldiers in various stages of war and/or leaving families with kids/wives crying, and/or families/soldiers grieving for each other etc. I’m sure you’ve seen these. My inbox has been filling up lately and I”m pretty sure that soon the Christmas soldier emails will start arriving.

I’m wondering if anyone but me HATES these things?? For one, I hardly need to be reminded of the sacrifices our soldiers make – I live it every day with a husband going over seas soon for deployment #2 and with young children at home. I don’t need to see pictures of children holding a flag that presumably just came from their father’s coffin. I don’t need to see soldiers kneeling next to the helmet of a dead comrade. Plus – I can’t help but think..these pictures are of someone’s child/father/brother/son/husband. They’re not just any old photo.

Does anyone have any suggestion on how to tell your families how insensitive this practice really is????

******************

So I told her that I’ve tried being nice, I’ve tried asking them politely to stop sending… and ended up with one “friend” simply telling him to cease, desist and go away! My reader also has the problem of the anti liberal emails from family, but that’s another problem we all have.

What do you do? Any good ideas?

LAW

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 610photography permalink
    November 18, 2009 9:29 pm

    Funny, I blogged about that just a couple months ago. http://kikicha.blogspot.com/2009/07/support-forward.html

    I honestly think they are trying to be supportive in any way they can but it’s just misguided. Every time I see a new one I just have to giggle a little and then roll my eyes.

  2. November 18, 2009 10:15 pm

    Delete without opening. Harsh, perhaps, but I value my sanity more than any possible missed communication from someone who doesn’t understand me at all.

  3. Wishful Bohemian permalink
    November 19, 2009 6:26 am

    I think I’m just going to put a link to this post on Facebook (my far-flung family’s internet meet-up of choice). Thank you!

  4. November 19, 2009 8:33 am

    Yes, I second Bette’s recommendation. I delete, delete, delete.

  5. LAW permalink
    November 19, 2009 9:29 am

    GAH! I got one, from the older lady I reference above – the ACLU suit about crosses one. THAT one offends the hell out of me, because it is FALSE. So I did send a reply all to everyone she sent it to, with the snopes link, and said I was sick of people using the military to try this scare tactic.

  6. November 19, 2009 9:45 am

    I think it’s best to go by “It’s the thought that counts.” If it’s someone you know who means well, then take it as good intentioned. No matter what, just delete. No use getting riled about junk mail.

  7. November 20, 2009 3:52 pm

    I just hit delete. You want to know the worst offender? My Mother. Next is SIL. I really hate it when they say if you do not forward them then you will not have good luck or something stupid like that. When my grandson passed, my SIL started sending me what she thought would be helpful. “Everything Happens for a Reason” was not helpful at that time.
    There seems to be a chain email for every event in life. I am with you. They need to stop!

  8. pub permalink
    January 10, 2010 1:44 am

    Criiiisst, lighten up. We’re so sorry that you military wives are so superior to the average American.

    • January 12, 2010 10:25 am

      I didn’t see anything in this post that said anything about military wives thinking they are superior to the “average American.” And what exactly is your definition of “average American?” If you had any connection to the military, than you would understand why these emails are offensive and just not necissary. Thanks for your spam, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

