Skip to content

Military IDs and Your Social Security Number

October 21, 2009

This may be old news to some, but it was news to me last week. 

My husband and I went to a wedding two weeks ago for one of his Recruiter friends.  After the happy couple got back from their honeymoon they did all the wonderful running around to add her to Tricare, and to get her ID and all the other wonderful things you need to do when you become a military spouse.  I got a text message from the wife asking if my full Social Security Number was on my Military ID.  I got married last year and indeed my full Social Security Number is on my card.  She was afraid that the person that processed her card didnt do it properly and that she would have to go again to get it re-done.  Of course it’s not a super fun process of sitting at the ID office for two hours waiting your turn, so my friend did not want to have to do that again.

After a Google search I came across an article on the Army Times site.  Apparently the DoD is phasing out the use of Social Security Numbers on Military ID cards in 2009.  This is to help protect people from identity theft. 

By the end of the year all newly issued Military ID cards should only have the last four digits of the Social Security number, with the rest X’ed out. 

So, when your card expires and you go get your new one, and you notice the change… don’t worry.  It’s not a mistake 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Wishful Bohemian permalink
    October 21, 2009 11:15 am

    Before you leave the house, think about which ID-card benefit requires your ss#, as you’ll need your ss card to use it. Writing checks at the commissary, for instance. Found that one out the hard way!

  2. October 21, 2009 12:56 pm

    I got my ID card on a Naval base (I’m a Marine Corps spouse) in February 2009, and it’s a bit different than what you’re describing It says “SSN ON FILE” in the spot for my SSN, but it has my husband’s whole SSN. I hope they X that out next time I get a new card!

  3. October 21, 2009 1:05 pm

    loquita – thats interesting. My girlfriends had it with the Xs and just the last four like the article said. And she’s a Navy wife. Maybe in February, they werent sure what the standard way of doing it would be?

    Im not sure, but Im glad they are moving away from having them on there. 🙂

  4. October 21, 2009 1:31 pm

    I just checked…all X-s for me, but hub’s full number.

  5. October 21, 2009 1:33 pm

    My ID, which I got in July 2008, also says “SSN on file” because I requested that. They said they still had to put my husband’s SSN on my ID, though — which he thought was highly unfair. 😉

    Frankly, it bothers me more that his RANK is on my ID, but that’s another topic for another day.

  6. October 26, 2009 1:00 pm

    It’s one of the most dangerous cards to ever lose. It’s got two SSN’s.
    The major insurers phased out SSN’s years ago and replaced them with non-related numbers.
    The DOD should pay attention and do the same. Even the last four is a head start for someone who really wants to cause some trouble.

  7. October 28, 2009 5:54 am

    I have the SSN on file notice – I had read about the ability to request this right before I had to get my new ID. I did ask for my sponsor’s SSN to be removed… and I was given that quizzical head tilt… why would I want that taken off? Oh – duh – ever heard of Identity Theft? The Ft. Belvoir ID staff was simply befuddled…the leap of logic – take the SSN number of the card holder off, the sponsor’s SSN number is still on there… take it off too – was just too great, I assume.

Leave a Reply

