Skip to content

Friday Feature Follow-Up

September 25, 2009

A couple of months ago, we featured No Greater Sacrifice, which raises money for the educations of children who have lost a parent to the war on terror. A friend of mine was planning to run the Chicago Half Marathon to help pay for college for four young children whose father, Staff Sergeant William S. Jackson II, was killed in Iraq.

Well, he finished, and raised a fair chunk of change in the process! Thank you to all who helped him reach that goal.

Dear Friends and Family,

I am happy to report that I earned your donations on Sunday by finishing the Chicago Half Marathon. The first 9 miles were easier than expected and the last 4 were BRUTAL! Other than my knees, however, my body has recovered surprisingly well, and I’m actually thinking of going for a short run tomorrow. 

In any case, I am very proud that we were able to raise nearly $5,000 to help pay for the college educations of Zac, Levi, Sam, and Hannah Jackson. The sacrifice made by their father and their family and the loss that they have suffered were highlighted for me when I returned home after the race. My daughters were both shouting “Daddy” out the window as I walked up, and I then got to run through the faux finish line that my wife and daughter had taped across our front door!

Please remember that our service members and their families continue to make these sacrifices in the interest of our freedom. So far this month, 18 U.S. soldiers have died in Iraq and Afghanistan and while not reported, it is likely that some of these service members were parents. 

Thank you all sincerely for your thoughtfulness and generosity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

