Skip to content

Where were you

September 11, 2009
tags:

when the world stopped turning, that September day?

I’ve been hearing that song by Alan Jackson, in my head, all day long. Of all the songs on that day, that one has always resonated with me.  It’s the sadness, it’s the quiet grief that always makes my eyes tear, my heart ache and my mind go back.   It was a normal day in September in Minnesota, a little cool, and the first leaves were changing.  When someone came running into my bosses office to tell us that a plane had hit the WTC, we all thought it was one of the Cessna’s that had hit a tall building once before.  We went into the lunch room… and I don’t think anyone moved for a while.

Since the husband and son were both in the National Guard, I called them… and they were just like me, in shock, and waiting for the phone to ring to tell them they were activated. Our lives changed – the lives of our countrymen and women changed.   Our country changed- anger spilled out everywhere, sorrow seemed to be replaced by fury.  The headlines screamed, the drums sounded.  And then this song, said it for all of us.

Did you shout out in anger
In fear for your neighbor
Or did you just sit down and cry

and he ended it

And I remember this from when I was young
Faith hope and love are some good things he gave us
And the greatest is love

The greatest is love
The greatest is love

 

Today, when we remember with grief and anger, let’s also remember the love we showed our families in the days following 9/11, let’s remember how the country united in our grief and terror.    Take a minute to remember those who died, and remember their families today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

