Skip to content

I Put On My Big Girl Pants

September 2, 2009

So maybe most of you will read this and shake your head a laugh at me.  But I have to talk about my very first (ever) trip onto base by myself.  Ive only ever actually been on a base like three times before, so its not like second nature to me.  Its new and weird and to be quite honest scary. 

I don’t live near a huge base, and technically my husband isn’t stationed on a base since he is a recruiter.  The one by us is a small Air National Guard base, that is also used by other branches for reserve stuff.  But there is a commissary, and a PX and a Class Six, etc.  It has housing that was used once upon a time, but not in decades and is run down.  Hubbs has been there a few times to get uniform stuff, but mostly he has to order it through the mail because they have a limited selection.  But you get the picture.  I’m a base newbie, and I haven’t really had much exposure to it.

So when I decided that I would finally try out the commissary and see if it was worth it to shop there… I got nervous.  What do I do?  Will I get a hassle going through the gate?  What if I get lost?  What if I have this big sign on my forehead that says “first timer here, she has NO idea what she is doing”! 

But really, it was painless.  All that crazy worry for nothing.  I showed my ID, and drove in.  Got my groceries (saved a bunch of money!), and left.  I wanted to stop at the Class Six to see if they had any good deals there too, but it was already closed when I got there. 

I felt like I accomplished something.  I ventured out of my comfort zone, and tried something new and it was a success.  So for all of you out there that have never made a trip on base by yourself – its not that bad.  🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 5:33 pm

    LOL – I used to joke that I broke out in hives every time we went onto base. Maybe it was the FOX news on the TV at Family Services (happy to report they’ve recently changed to CNN!), but more likely it was me feeling like a deer in headlights. You know how I feel about being Ma-am’d.
    We don’t go often because it really is on the other side of town, but shhh…the best pool and park in town? On base.

  2. September 2, 2009 7:08 pm

    I think what I was most worried / nervous about is just not knowing what to do or where to go. I really felt lost. Im glad that I have been there once and now when I go again it will be a little less weird. Thankfully I dont really have any reason to go on base, other than to go shopping 🙂

  3. September 2, 2009 7:13 pm

    Oh, I remember my first time alone on base. I kept worrying that I would end up somewhere I wasn’t supposed to be and get arrested. But, I stopped by the gym and picked up a workout schedule, got groceries, and bought a crap load of wine. The Class Six is totally worth it! It was such a relief to get that solo trip out of the way!

  4. September 2, 2009 7:42 pm

    was it as nice as Belvoir? and yeah… first time there without Chief – I was scared that someone was going to tell me I was going the wrong way – well, actually, I did get told that, by someone in the coffee aisle! he he.

    I’ve always wondered, why aren’t we nervous about going into a strange grocery store, but we are about the Commissary??? hm…

    LAW

    • September 3, 2009 9:13 am

      Definitely not as nice as Belvoir. But like I said, its just a tiny reserve base. But the commissary is under construction and you can tell it will be pretty nice when its all finished.

  5. September 3, 2009 4:21 am

    That’s why I’ve been avoiding the closest BX, it’s on a National Guard base in a not so friendly part of town that my husband isn’t even stationed at (he’s stationed at a Reserve Center in another town). We bought some alcohol and Army things my husband needed from there around Christmas time, but I’m too scared to venture back there.

  6. Michelle permalink
    September 3, 2009 8:17 am

    HAHA..I am so glad I am not the only one!!!! I have been with dh since 1987…I have never gone on base alone. They don’t make big girl panties big enough to fix this fear. We’re in the same situation – no base within 50 miles or so, so I have no real need to ever go…but even still..sometimes I would like to really give the PX thing a looksee.

  7. September 3, 2009 10:46 am

    My biggest fear on the two big Georgia posts was becoming hopelessly lost, getting stopped by the MPs, and being frogmarched out with instructions never to return. I did get lost a bunch of times, but the MP scene never happened.

    Now I’m at one the smallest active-duty posts, and I still get lost. Obviously I have some issues.

  8. Heidi permalink
    September 5, 2009 10:05 am

    I have the same hesitation about going on post. I had to do it fairly frequently in Hawaii but now that we’re back in the Kansas City area, I’ve probably been there once, which is fine by me. I worry that I’m going to forget and answer my cell phone or go slightly over the speed limit. I wrote up my impressions about the commissary here:
    http://saucysauce.blogspot.com/2008/03/commissary.html

Leave a Reply

