Skip to content

Images from Afghanistan

July 17, 2009

Some of you may already be familiar with The Big Picture, it is a beautiful news/photography website that I frequent often. Today, I stopped by to check out their weekly Friday post and was greeted by 2 new posts full of images from Afghanistan. I tried to pick one to publish here, but I couldn’t. There are just too many, too many emotions, too many soldiers, too many civilians… all of which illustrate the many faces of this war. So if you have some time, go over and take a look. You won’t regret it.

In Afghanistan, Part One

In Afghanistan, Part Two

I would love to hear your thoughts about these images… I think so many of them could spark such amazing conversations, debates and dialogues. Enjoy your weekend everyone.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2009 1:22 pm

    Interesting links–thanks.

  2. July 17, 2009 2:14 pm

    OMG … the last picture in the second series. Um … tears much??!

  3. July 17, 2009 2:23 pm

    I know! It was interesting to read the comments on there, that thread was almost exclusively on that photo when I was reading it. Tears for sure.

    I was holding back tears through both sets, the emotions all seem so raw and pure and come through in full force for every photo. I am SO glad that The Big Picture ran these sets, and dedicated 2 posts to it.

    • LAW permalink
      July 18, 2009 6:46 am

      just saw the news, 3 guys from the MN guard died yesterday – this hit hard. sitting in the USO here in Frankfurt… crap.

      • July 18, 2009 7:53 am

        I read the article in the Pioneer Press. Heart is aching right now… they were all so young, it is so sad. I will keep you posted if I hear anything else. Be sure to enjoy your time with Chief…

  4. Meghan permalink
    July 19, 2009 5:51 pm

    Wonderful post, Tucker. I believe I heard a couple of the photo journalists who took some of the photos in the second set on NPR the other day. It’s so powerful to actually SEE what is happening over there. Not just the war shots, but the real people and the beautiful scenery. You just wouldn’t know what is there unless you are there or see images like these. It’s definitely eye opening. What do all of you think about the more graphic images such as the soldier running from the IED explosion? One the one hand I think we need to realize things like that are happening over there and seeing a picture is one way to accomplish that. On the other hand it sort of seems disrespectful for the individuals who were directly involved. I’m not really sure what I think…

Leave a Reply

