Skip to content

You Betcha!

June 16, 2009

It should come as zero surprise to any of you who read anything I write with some regularity that I think Governor Sarah Palin is, well, ummm, err…not at the top of my list of people I would take with me to a desert island.

My take on the entire David Letterman/Sarah Palin feud really has no place on this blog and I wouldn’t even bring it up, until this little gem was uttered by the Governor this morning, in response to last nights (2nd) apology from the comedian.

“Letterman certainly has the right to ‘joke’ about whatever he wants to, and thankfully we have the right to express our reaction,” Palin said in a statement. “And this is all thanks to our U.S. Military women and men putting their lives on the line for us to secure America’s Right to Free Speech – in this case, may that right be used to promote equality and respect.”

*whack, whack, whack*

It’s a verbal yellow ribbon magnet sticker! It’s patriotism with jazz hands! Ugh.

Please, politicians – Republicans, Dems, Independents, Greens…all of you – please stop with the ridiculous pandering. It doesn’t fool anyone anymore. Sure, maybe it did 7 years ago when all of this started. But no more. After years of brutal op tempos, skyrocketing suicide rates, scary episodes at the VA and families under unheard of pressures, I’m pretty sure that fighting for Sarah Palin’s right to get indignant is the farthest thing from any soldier, sailor, airman or Marine’s mind.

Now. Discuss.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2009 12:18 pm

    I do not care about which party affiliation is espoused, who the person is… I am getting really tired of my family and friends being used as knee jerk patriotic window dressing. Until our voices are heard and until problems are taken care of, don’t USE us!

    LAW

  2. June 16, 2009 1:01 pm

    AMEN! What kills me about this quote (and her in general) is how demeaning and minimizing it is to what all of our troops are doing and what our families are dealing with. And yea, EXACTLY what LAW said. DO NOT use my husband or any other troops to shine up your image, seem patriotic, or to further your career/image… not until you have ACTUALLY done something to warrant it. Blech. She gets a DO BETTER.

    (And I have a serious case of the CapsLock bug. Sorry!)

  3. FOW permalink
    June 17, 2009 1:37 am

    I remember from the campaign that her son was being depolyed to Iraq which makes me feel like she should know better. This is a calculated politcal move that makes me lose what little respect that I had left for her. Stop pulling the Military card to boost your politcal arguments!

  4. June 17, 2009 12:56 pm

    My issue is that since when were “freedom” and the military one in the same? The military is not responsible for her freedom of speech (which I seriously wish somebody would take away from her). The BILL OF RIGHTS AND OUR FOUNDING FATHERS are responsible for that.

    I wasn’t aware that our freedom was in question, or that there was a threat of it being taken away from us. So she just needs to shut it.

    • June 17, 2009 7:32 pm

      As an aside, we’ve been watching the HBO miniseries John Adams, with Paul Giamatti. If you haven’t seen it, watch it!! Our founding fathers were bad asses and it is fascinating to remember that the the formation of a national militia, which we now take as a given, was NOT a foregone conclusion.

      • kimba permalink
        June 18, 2009 6:56 am

        LOVED it. I was sad when it ended.

  5. Michelle permalink
    June 17, 2009 6:10 pm

    Thank you..thank you…thank you! I tried to say something similiar to friends and I got totally shot down, as if EVERY expression of thanks to the military should be just accepted at face value. But it’s like you said, it’s nothing more than a yellow ribbon magnet, stuck without thought and discarded when it fades beyond recognition. My husband is NOT fighting for David Letterman and is not fighting for Sarah Palin.

    I don’t diminish that fact that the mere presence of our strong military DOES keep our country enjoying the liberties we all take for granted, but don’t go waving it around in response to why a joke insulted you.

  6. June 18, 2009 10:36 am

    I think it’s possible that the premise is: The military provides our national security, and by strong national security, we are protected from invasion/terrorist attacks by folks who *don’t* believe in freedom of speech. I know this is hotly contested, but there is a body of thought that *this* war began to protect our national security. Therefore, I think this premise goes, our troops in Iraq/Afghanistan are, by defending national security, indirectly defending freedom of speech.

  7. June 18, 2009 10:38 am

    (I’m not arguing, by the way, the defensibility or indefensibility of her comment, just saying I can see where politicians get that link between supporting the military and preserving our freedoms at home.)

  8. July 1, 2009 11:06 am

    indeed and well put. (also, i think i’m going to have to check out john adams — i wonder if it is on net flix — thanks to your pp for the tip!)

Leave a Reply

