Skip to content

Friday Feature – afghans for Afghans

May 29, 2009

It’s no secret around here that I love to knit. And while knitting for myself, my kiddos or my friends is fantastic, knitting for a purpose is even better. Every so often I’d like to bring a crafty bent to our Friday Feature, highlighting organizations who are creating for a greater good.

afghans for Afghans has been bringing hand knit and crocheted items to Afghan men, women and children affected by war and dislocation since late 2001, since the beginning of the war in Afghanistan. I first read about the group in one of my favorite go-to knitting books, Mason Dixon Knitting, a few years back and have since donated more than a handful of easy to knit kids’ hats, mittens and scarves.

Want to get involved? Start here. A deadline for children and infant items has just passed, but similar items are always welcome AND you can be sure a new campaign will pop up any day now.

Need some free patterns? See this page for a great list of options and inspirations.

Need some moral support and companionship to get started? Check this out for regular knit-a-longs.

Want to start a Left Face afghans for Afghans knit-a-long?! Whoot! Let’s do it.

Oh, one more option. You don’t know how to knit, but want to knit because you know all the *ahem* cool people are doing it? Leave a comment or drop me an email and I’ll point you in the right direction.

Even easier? You have not a clue how to knit, don’t have the time or the inclination but love the idea?! Donate here!

There are many, many projects out there specifically for creating knitted items for our soldiers  – if you have a specific project in mind and you want to get the word out sooner rather than later, let us know! And I’d love for this to be an equal opportunity crafting feature – I’m a fledgling sewer (seamstress?!) – so if you have any sewing projects or other ideas, shout!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 8:17 pm

    I love this idea, but I’m a bit…challenged when it comes to needlework. If you have any suggestions for someone whose spirit is willing but skills are weak, I’m all eyes!

    • May 29, 2009 8:36 pm

      Well obviously the very best thing would be for you to hop on that bike and come visit for an in person tutorial, BUT given that, you know, you have a life to lead, two of my favorite resources are Debbie Stoller’s Stitch and Bitch series and any of The Yarn Girls’ books. I mention those b/c knitting illustrations are notoriously BAD and these are actually pretty clear – Stoller always has a great, readable and HELPFUL intro section.
      There are TONS of resources online as well – two of my favs are Ravelry.com and Knitty.com, though I don’t know if I would point you there for beginning tutorials.
      Also, look around and see if you have a local yarn store. Definitely go in and grab someone who looks like they know what they’re doing – most knitters are kind and more than willing to help enable get you started.
      I’m thinking we need to do a LF afghan, made up of simple knitted or crocheted squares. One of the first projects I ever made was knitted blocks for my son – each side was a different knit/purl pattern and by the end of it, I had learned a ton. I’d love to finish something like that up!

  2. LAW permalink
    May 30, 2009 3:13 am

    glad you said crocheted… I can’t knit, but I can crochet!

    LAW

    • May 30, 2009 3:41 am

      Oh, yes, aforA is an equal yarn lovin’ organization, as am I! Someday you will have to teach me to crochet – it boggles my mind right now.

Leave a Reply

