Skip to content

Who’s YOUR Hero?

May 22, 2009

Back when we were a brand-spankin’ new blog, we brought to your attention ReMIND.org, a program from the Bob Woodruff Foundation that educates the public about the unique needs of  veterans and their families as they return home and reintegrate into their communities.

Approximately 1.65 million men and women have served in Iraq and Afghanistan since these wars began and this weekend, ReMIND.org is doing their best to raise $1.65 million – a dollar per soldier – to show their support of our returning veterans.

How can you help? It’s simple! Tweet your support. If you are already on Twitter, use the hash mark #tweettoremind to send Tweets from Friday, May 22 thru Memorial Day, May 25. Say you don’t Tweet? Tweet to ReMIND is asking people to answer the simple question: who is YOUR hero?

I’ve got plenty of heroes in my life right now. My husband, who gave it his all during his deployment and continues to do so each and every day as we juggle this crazy life of ours. Our kiddos, who were so brave while their beloved Daddy was gone and wow me every day. My dear friend, coming out of surgery for early stage breast cancer as I type this. Another dear friend, who is surviving her cancer longer than anyone would have predicted. All my girls over here at Left Face, who take life’s lemons and make some fine lemonade. My own mama, who inspires me daily with her curiosity and openness to new things, even at age 75 when she could be sitting back and relaxing.

This Memorial Day, who are your heroes? Twitter, blog or give us a comment – let’s all celebrate those we admire.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 6:52 pm

    Great Post!
    Okay, clearly number 1 is my husband Swiss… he fights for what he believes in without question. He is honorable, brave, strong and kind. Compassionate and fearless. He is all you could ever ask for in a Hero. Also, my parents because they never shied away from doing the right thing, even when it was hard, and they loved me with all they had, they taught me how to be who I am and have always been my biggest supporters. All of you ladies at LF, because your compassion, honesty, openness, fearlessness and big hearts define you so much more than politics or milspouse status ever could. There are more, but this is a good start. And let’s not forget all the guys and gals serving over there right now, and all those who have done so before them.

  2. leftcoastleftspouse permalink
    May 23, 2009 9:30 am

    Ok, here goes – a short and by no means complete list:

    Lt. Colonel Victor Fehrenbach

    Everyone at Knights Out

    Everyone at The Point Foundation

    Non-military? These guys –

    Harvey Milk

    Greg Mortenson

    Everyone at Planned Parenthood

    And, of course, my dad. I’ll keep fighting for you, Dad. Always.

  3. May 26, 2009 8:29 pm

    My Marine Son

    My Marine Nephew

    My former Soldier Daughter

    Those who serve, have served and will serve our country

    Finally, my cancer surviving granddaugter.

Leave a Reply

