Skip to content

Lawn Care for Troops

May 9, 2009

We all know that there is a certain hardship when our Service Member deploys for a great length of time. Things that our husbands used to do suddenly fall by the wayside. In my personal life? The cars don’t get taken care of near as often as they should (tire rotating? What’s that? Oil change?? Psh … who needs it.), I SOMETIMES remember to put the garbage and recycling out to the curb (and am usually reminded bright and early when I hear the trash man come crashing through the neighborhood … always while I’m still in bed), and mowing the lawn? Forget it. I’ve mentioned before how much I hate doing yard work, so that really should be no surprise to anyone.

But the fact of the matter is that I get it done … eventually. But it’s also just me around the house these days. The fact of the matter is that a lot of families left behind are just that — FAMILIES. Kids running around, mom trying to keep up with all the things that need to be done, doing the job of both mom & dad while trying to keep her sanity. Things like oil changes and mowing the lawn? Who has time for that? It’s not like you can leave a bunch of toddlers to their own devices while you take an hour to mow.

So, I’m passing along this group: GreenCare for Troops — A Project Evergreen Initiative.  You sign up, and then this group finds local volunteers that will essentially come and do any yard work you need done, whether it be mowing, pullin weeds, landscaping, pest control … you name it, they probably do it.

What is Project Evergreen?

Headquartered in New Prague, Minn., Project EverGreen is a national non-profit organization representing green industry service (end-user) providers, associations, suppliers/distributors, media companies and other organizations. Project EverGreen’s mission is to preserve and enhance green space in our communities for today and future generations.

GreenCare for Troops is an extension of that project. They want to help those military families who have been left behind, who may need that extra little helping hand around the yard. Interested? You can fill out their online form, and they will do their best to find you someone in your area (be aware, however, that this is not available everywhere. The website does not list specifics, but I’m sure they have trouble finding people to volunteer sometimes — because the people working on your yard? They ain’t gettin’ paid!).

If you are a lawn care professional, or just want to help out and volunteer your time, you can also do so here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 4:25 pm

    I think the hardest I cried during my hubs deployment was the Fall day I came home and my neighbor had taken care of all the leaves in my yard. Yardwork is not my friend.

  2. May 10, 2009 11:42 pm

    I was so blessed last fall when a local church offered to do my yard. With 3 little kids and a huge yard ( that was before I moved on post) I worked endless hours to do the house but the yard…sigh….

    THIS is a real help!

  3. FOW permalink
    May 12, 2009 3:30 am

    Great program!

Leave a Reply

