Skip to content

Images from Afghanistan

April 15, 2009

afghanistan, originally uploaded by Army.mil.

A little boy sits and holds the hand of U.S. Army Sgt. Resolve Savage, from Charlie Company, 1st Battalion, 158th Infantry Regiment, Arizona National Guard, while he pulls security outside of a hospital during a medical capabilities program and humanitarian assistance supply hand out in the Nuristan province of Afghanistan June 28, 2007. (U.S. Army photo by Staff Sgt. Isaac A. Graham)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 12:45 pm

    I love this photo, and Resolve Savage has to be one of the best names ever.

  2. April 15, 2009 1:08 pm

    I know right? I told Swiss that our kid’s name would HAVE to be Resolve Savage if we ever have one!

    Glad you like the photo Bette!

  3. April 15, 2009 1:41 pm

    BOTH of their faces! Wow. I am loving this photo series, Tucker! Thanks!

  4. April 15, 2009 2:16 pm

    Love this! The way they are both looking so directly into the camera. Striking.

    And I know this is completely shallow, but I’m going to go ahead and say it anyway…
    How completely handsome is Sgt. Savage? I mean, the guy should be on a recruiting poster!

  5. April 15, 2009 2:43 pm

    I am glad you all are loving this series… I am a photography junkie so this is such a great outlet for SO MANY amazing photographs. I’m glad you all like it!!!

    And yes, Jennifer. Sgt. Savage is v. handsome!

  6. snarkynavywife permalink*
    April 15, 2009 4:07 pm

    I’m torn about this photo. I absolutely love it. It’s fabulous on so many levels, from the subjects to the composition and color.

    On the other hand, it makes me incredibly sad to see a little boy, so tiny and defenseless, surrounded by so many markers of violence. My higher brain says it’s for the greater good that our service members are over there, and his way of life could potentially be orders of magnitude greater for the coalition presence in his country. But that it’s become necessary really breaks my heart.

    I love this series, Tucker. Keep it coming! The photos are fabulous, and each one seems to get my brain moving, which I desperately need lately. šŸ™‚

    • April 15, 2009 6:07 pm

      Oh, I know. The way the kid seems more afraid of the camera than of that huge gun by his head is haunting.

      • April 15, 2009 6:11 pm

        Exactly… and that he feels safe (holding the soldier’s hand) with a man holding a huge gun.

  7. FOW permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:34 pm

    Great pictures, keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

