Skip to content

*snap, snap* She did NOT just call me a drone!

March 24, 2009

All right. Since I’m pretty sure I wrote it, I’ll defend it.

Drone, from the Merrium-Webster Online Dictionary:

Pronunciation:\ˈdrōn\

Function:noun

Etymology:Middle English, from Old English drān; akin to Old High German treno drone, Greek thrēnos dirge

Date: before 12th century

  1. 1: the male of a bee (as the honeybee) that has no sting and gathers no honey….hmmm…maybe that’s not what I meant.
  2. 2: one that lives on the labors of others : parasite….ouch, that’s harsh.
  3. 3: an unmanned aircraft or ship guided by remote control…interesting and slightly applicable to a milblog, but no, that’s not it either.
  4. drudge…drudge, like in the Drudge Report? Snort. Definitely not that.

Okay, that didn’t work.

Let me try this: follow me back two years, to the Spring of 2007. My beloved dog had died on the same day my kids and I were hit head on by a drunk driver, my son had had emergency surgery, we were moving to follow a job and…and my husband was gearing up for a deployment to Iraq. You know, I’d had better years.

Picture my husband and I, sitting around one of my best friend’s picnic table, trees blooming, stout flowing, veggies and tofu grilling, and kids running amok out in the yard. Picture random banter between a host of friends and then this blurting out of the mouth of – let me stress this again – one of my best friends.

“Well, you know, the military…they’re all drones.” Screeeech. All eyes on my husband and me. The proverbial pin and all that.

Got it now?

Because he is a Reservist, we knew about my husband’s deployment to Iraq waaayy in advance, close to two and a half years and I’ve written before about my very pregnant and hormonal reaction to the 2004 elections. Much of what I have written since my husband’s safe return has been light hearted – I can assure you that the lead up to his deployment was one of the darkest periods of my life.

We live in the high desert – a Navy Reserve family far from water. As far as military support, I had no one. No one.

Believe me, I looked. But the truth is I am a bleeding heart, Green-leaning, peacenik liberal. I spent hours surfing military sites, support networks for other people like me. My hopes would rise, but eventually there would be some post or some comment that made me back away, made me feel like I would never be welcome given that I believe what I believe. So I started LopsidedMom. Surely it is not solely a military blog, but it is reflective of me and my experience as a milspouse.

Already at Left Face we have heard from some people I am unfamiliar with. If Left Face helps one other loved one like me, one other spouse or girlfriend (or boyfriend for that matter!) get through a deployment or a PCS or some other stressful military moment, than we will have done a great service to the military community. If I’ve said it once, I’ll say it a thousand times: the military is a big umbrella, involving millions of people. Surely we don’t all think alike and to assume we do would be, well…drone-like. So come on over and keep checking us out – you’ll find lots of resources and information, lots of heart and hopefully, lots of lefties!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2009 2:55 pm

    Well said!
    Sadly, these conversations have come up around me too… we are here to celebrate our differences and our shared experiences. None of these lables (Military wife, liberal, etc) define us, they are just a part of who we are, all under the same military umbrella.
    Thanks for posting this.

  2. March 24, 2009 3:06 pm

    It’s amazing what some people think they know about me (and my husband) based solely on the fact that he’s in the Army. And I’ll admit to some preconceptions myself, although those have since been dashed. Big umbrella indeed, and nice when everyone shares.

  3. michelle permalink
    March 25, 2009 1:03 am

    I’m glad I found your blog here. Us lefties need to stick together. especially those of us doing duty as mil wives.

Leave a Reply

